You are here: Home - Home page updates news, Sidebar updates news, updates - Wayne Hening Young Investigator Awards

Wayne Hening Young Investigator Awards

Wayne Hening Young Investigator Awards

Named to honor the memory of a pioneer in RLS research and established in 2010, the Wayne Hening Young Investigator Awards are presented at the annual meeting of the IRLSSG. The $1,000 awards recognize research efforts by new investigators in an attempt to promote interest in the study of RLS.

The Wayne Hening Young Investigator Awards will be made to welcome:

1. Either young investigators new to the RLS/PLMS field who are no more than 10 years past receiving their PhD or MD; or
2. Senior investigators new to the RLS/PLMS field (first publication of a first author abstract or journal article in the RLS/PLMS field is within the last 3 years); and
3. Their scientific RLS/PLMS work was accepted for presentation

The awardees are expected to present their work at the IRLSSG annual meeting.  Abstracts considered for award will be judged based on work quality and relevance to the field.

Award applications should include the following: 1. Name, address, and scientific affiliation 2. Current job and professional role 3. Scientific mentor/senior associate (for junior investigators) 4. Submitted abstract and official indication of acceptance or scientific role of the applicant in the scientific encounter with official documentation attached to the application (this can be submitted later than the initial application if relevant information is unavailable at the first point). 5. Other information supporting the application when appropriate or needed (e.g. comments about relevance of the work to RLS or about role/activity in the IRLSSG meeting.) Applications should be sent by email to: IRLSSG Wayne Hening Award Committee c/o Allan O’Bryan Executive Secretary IRLSSG

2015 Wayne Hening Young Investigator Award Recipients: 

Laura Triguero: Prospective Study Of Iron Metabolism And Rls In Blood Donors
Aaro Salminen: Prepulse Inhibition And Auditory Startle Response In Meis1 Knock-out Mice

2014 Wayne Hening Young Investigator Award Recipients:

Suzie Bertisch: Cardiovagal Baroreflex Gain is Reduced in Patients with RLS
Thomas Dye: Long Term Treatment Outcomes of Iron Supplementation in Pediatric Restless Leg Syndrome and PLMD
Yong Seo Koo: Efficacy of Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation In Patients With Drug-Naïve Restless Legs Syndrome

2013 Wayne Hening Young Investigator Award Recipients:

Patrizia Congiu:  Neurophysiological evaluation of spinal excitability in patients affected by primitive restless legs syndrome
Amanda Freeman: PTPRD expression regulates sleep consolidation in drosophila
Samantha Kerr:  Reflex testing reveals circadian variation of spinal excitability in restless legs syndrome patients
Marta Moraleda-Cibrian: Restless leg syndrome in young children with orofacial cleft
Aaro Salminen:  Periodic leg movements in spinal cord injury: Evaluation of arousals and treatment effect
Andras Szentkiralyi: Multimorbidity and the risk of restless legs syndrome in two prospective cohort studies
Irina Zavalko: Polysomnographic evaluation of augmentation in patients with restless legs syndrome

2012 Wayne Hening Young Investigator Award Recipients:

Victoria Mery, McGill University, Montreal for High false-positive rate of questionnaire-based RLS diagnosis in MS
AQ Rana, PD Clinic and MD Center, Toronto for Exacerbation of Pain by RLS and PD, A Case Control Study.
Bryndis Benediktsdottiri, Landspitali University Hospital, Iceland for Prevalence of RLS among patients with OSA before and after CPAP treatment compared to the general population
Maryann Deak, Sleep Health Centers, Harvard Medical School, Boston for Correlates of respiratory events with and without associated leg movements in obstructive sleep apnea
Mark Boulos, University of Toronto for Nocturnal Limb Movements are Correlated with Cerebral White Matter Hyperintensities and Fronto-Executive Deficits